Amazing Animals A perfect place to research animals. It is based on the print series of the same title.
America
the Beautiful -
A unique and exciting State-by-State authoritative resource that provides
the latest information on states and territories as well as complete
and current geographical, historical, and cultural information.
Biography Resource Center - This database combines award-winning biographies
from respected Gale Group sources. Biography Resource Center also
includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. With
the Complete Marquis Who's Who (find quick reference information
on an additional 900,000 people.)
BookFlix Introducing BookFlix! Classic fictional video storybooks from Weston Woods are paired with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to reinforce reading skills and develop essential real-world knowledge and understanding. (Pre-K - Grade 3)
Country Watch provides reliable, up-to-date news and information on 192 countries of the world. (Grade 3+)
Encyclopedia
Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the
Year. You can also use EB Online to search an Internet directory that
includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed
by Britannica editors.
Image Collection This EBSCO database features photographs of people, natural science, flags, maps, historical photos and photos of places.
Infotrac
Kids and Junior Edition - Kid's edition gives children easy access
to magazines, reference books and newspaper articles. Junior edition
is designed for junior high and middle school students.
International Children's Digital Library - Read books in many languages at the click of a button!
Kids
Infobits - meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten
through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually
graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text,
age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference
content for information on current events, the arts, science, health,
people, government, history, sports and more.
Lands
and People - A multifaceted Web site designed to serve as a principal
resource on countries, cultures, and current events for the classroom
and for the library.
Live Homework Help - Chat live with a tutor in almost any subject for grades K-12 and adult learners between 2pm and 10pm!
Live Librarian - Professional Librarians are available
online 24/7 to answer your questions.
New
Book of Knowledge is designed for children in grades 3 to 8. You
can access the encyclopedia for articles, or select NewScoops and get
information on people, places and events in the news.
New
Book of Popular Science provides accessible, easy-to-understand
science, medicine, and technology articles for a young audience.
Novelist Plus
K-8 - This "readers' advisor" database has something
for everyone. Adults, teens and children will be able to identify other
books based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed.
It also provides full-text reviews and annotations for over 20,000 titles.
Primary
Search - Provides full text for over 50 childrens magazines
and over 100 childrens pamphlets, designed for the elementary
school student. (See EBSCOhost Web). This database is provided by the
New York State Library's EmpireLink Project through an LSTA grant from
the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Service.
Science Online (Facts on File) - Perfect for all science topics, especially experiments! Designed for upper elementary to adult users.
Searchasaurus
- A database with a graphic interface designed for elementary-to-middle
school students. It contains encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines, books
and more. This database is provided by the New York State Library's
EmpireLink Project through an LSTA grant from the Federal Institute
of Museum and Library Service.
Student Resource Center - A database just for middle school/high school students, which contains thousands
of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background
information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of over 450 magazines,
newspapers, over 20,000 photographs and illustrations, and more than 8 hours
of audio and video clips.
Tumblebooks Enjoy interactive picture books anytime of day or night!
Tumble Readables Great for emergent, struggling, and reluctant readers, and are an excellent tool for ESL students. Read-Alongs will also appeal to accomplished readers who are excited to follow along to the narration of their favorite books. This new collection includes: picture books, early readers, chapter books, middle school readers, YA/teen Novels, children’s classics, classics and Shakespeare.
World Book Online - Access over 31,000 encyclopedia articles, 6,000 Web links, 25,000 magazine articles, 800 videos, animations, and sounds, 400 interactive maps, 100 3D bubble views, and much more.
World Geography - provides a wealth of information for approximately two
hundred countries, plus territories and continents. Each nation has an
overview,
history, governmental information, facts and figures, current events coverage,
biographies of prominent figures, organizational profiles, text of major
documents, a flag photo, and maps. (political and topograhic). |